Helpful agents are standing by: (210) 775-1981
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

The Penalties and Punishments for the San Antonio DWI and DUI laws Violation

After purchasing your car insurance in San Antonio, you can legally drive your car within this city and all states and cities included in your policy. When driving your car, you need to know that being charged of DUI or DWI is not acceptable. There are penalties for subsequent traffic law violations especially for driving under influence or driving while intoxicated cases.

The following penalties apply only to drivers over 21 years old.

For first DWI offense, you will be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor offense that involves the following penalties:

  • A jail sentence of 72 hours  only if there was an opened alcohol beverage at the time of the arrest
  • You’ll need to pay a fine up to $2,000 and you will also have to pay an addition surcharge of 1000$ per year for three years if your BAC was under 1.5% at the time of the arrest
  •  There is an additional surcharge of $2,000 per year, for three years if the BAC was equal or greater than 1.6%, at the time of the arrest.
  • You will have to attend a twelve hours state-approved DWI course. Failure to complete this program within 180 days from the arrest date, your driver’s license may be revoked by the Texas Department of Public Safety. You will get a probation period which will be determined by the court.
  • Another form of penalty, you will be needed to perform a minimum 24 hours of community service (this penalty can go up to a maximum of 100 hours of community service).
  • Your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days up to one year if you submitted the chemical alcohol test. If you have refused to submit this test, the suspension period get up between 180 days and 2 years. However, if you’re at the first time offense, you might be eligible to obtain an occupational license if you meet the necessary requirements.

Getting to a second DWI offense will increase your penalties as follows:

  • You will get a jail sentence of 72 hours up to one entire year.
  • You’ll be required to pay a fine amount of $4,000 and an additional surcharge of 1500$ per year, for three consecutive years if your BAC level was under 1.6%
  • Additional surcharge of $2,000 per year for three consecutive years if your BAC level was equal or greater than 1.6%.
  • Regarding the DWI school, it will be a must to attend a 32 hours state-approved DWI course. If you do not attend the course within the first 180 days of your probation period, your driver’s license might be revoked by the Texas PDS.
  • You will have the driver’s license suspended for 180 days up to 2 years. Even if it is the second time DWI offense, you will still be eligible to obtain an occupational license if you meet all needed requirements.

Finally, on a third time DWI offence, the penalties increase even more:

  • You will get a jail sentence of two years up to 10 years.
  • You will be required to pay a fine up to $10,000 and all additional associated court costs.
  • You will also need to pay a $1,500 surcharge per year for three consecutive years if your BAC level was under 1.6%
  • $2,000 surcharge per year for three consecutive years if your BAC level was equal or greater than 1.6%.
  • As for the second time DWI offense, you will be required to attend a state-approved DWI course of 32 hours and within the 180 days of your probation period.
  • You will have to perform community service in account of a minimum of 80 hours and a maximum of 200 hours.
  • Your driver’s license will be revoked for 2 years. Even this time, you might get an occupational license, if you meet the necessary requirements.

What about drivers under 21? If you are under 21 years old, you should pay even greater attention because the laws are more restrictive. In this case, if an under 21 driver is found to be driving while drunk, having an alcohol concentration (proved through the chemical test) of 0.02% or greater, will be charged of violation of the Texas “zero tolerance” law. You’re driver license will be suspended for 30 days for the first offence violation. In case a second offense violation occurs, the license will be suspended for a period of 60 days. Finally, when a third time DWI offense occurs, the driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. You should also know that, even if you are under 21 years old, if you are arrested for having a BAC level of 0.08% (which is the maximum limit admitted for drivers over 21 years old) or greater, you will be charged with the same fines and penalties as someone over 21 would face for a similar offense. Moreover, in order to retrieve your driver license back you will have to show proof of financial responsibility and purchase a Texas SR22 insurance coverage.

One more thing that you should understand related to the DWI and DUI laws is represented by the consequences of having a child in your car while being arrested for DWI. If there is at least one child in your car younger than 15 years old, you will end up with the following penalties: you will get a fine up to $10,000, your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days, and you will also receive a punishment of up to 2 years in a state jail.

These are the possible consequences of being arrested under the DWI offence. You should carefully reconsider every case that might put you in this situation. For more information about DWI and DUI laws or to get the best deals for car insurance in San Antonio, enter your zip code here.

How can A DUI Attorney Help You with DUI Violation in San Antonio?

In case you are driving while you are drunk and you are pulled over by police offer in San Antonio, you will end up with your driver’s license suspended if your BAV level is over 0.08% which is the maximum limit agreed by San Antonio laws. You can try to reduce the period of time of your driver’s license suspension. If you are charged by DWI or DUI laws’ violation, you will have a maximum of 15 days period from the arrest day to request an administrative hearing with the State Office of Administrative Hearings. If you do not make this request within 15 days, you will not have further rights to ask for a cancelation or modification of penalties you received.

If you want to request an administrative hearing, you should carefully select your lawyer. There are dedicated DUI Lawyers specially trained for the criminal defense lawsuits. It will make no sense to hire a general criminal attorney because the dedicated ‘driving under influence’ or ‘driving while intoxicated’ lawyers are aware of DUI related news. If you cannot afford to hire a lawyer, you should know that you have the possibility to receive free consultation with a DUI attorney. If you decide that you will represent yourself in a lawsuit, make sure to previously speak with a specialized DUI lawyer. He will be the one to certainly give you good tips, teach you all you need to know about DWI and DUI laws and advise you how you should act in the courtroom. On the contrary, if you decide to get a DUI attorney the amount of money to be paid will vary depending on the lawyer’s experience and skills.

During the hearing process, the Texas Department of Public safety must prove, with clear evidences, that you were driving under influence or driving while intoxicated. In order to insure an impartial hearing, the Administrative License revocation hearings are conducted by the Administrative Law Judge. While the Texas DPS will make prove of your guilty, you and your lawyer will try to bring contrary arguments presented in your defense. It will be the Administrative law judge who will decide which part is right but only after the testimonies from other parties found at the place you got arrested. The ALJ will finally decide if your driver’s license suspension should be canceled or not. If you win the lawsuit, you’ll retrieve your driver’s license and be no more charged by any DWI related penalties.

On the other hand, if you lose the lawsuit you will have to accept and accomplish all DWI/DUI penalties you were charged with. You also have to be prepared for any changes that might arise on your auto insurance in San Antonio.

For more information about San Antonio DWI Revocation Hearing Process or if you are looking for an auto car insurance, enter you zip code here and check auto insurance in San Antonio.

What are the Mandated DWI and DUI Laws of San Antonio DMV?

According to the San Antonio DMV, the limit blood alcohol concentration (BAC – which represents the amount of alcohol in a driver’s bloodstream measured through a chemical test, a blood or urine test or even a breath test) is 0.08% when you’re driving. You need to know that this percentage only applies to drivers over 21 years. San Antonio city laws don’t accept any alcohol percentages for drivers under 2. If there are any detectable alcohol amounts, this fact is considered a crime. Still, most alcohol-related violations occur at drivers with ages within the 21 and 34 year range.

What are the DUI and the DWI factors? DUI stands for ‘driving under influence’ while DWI is for ‘driving while intoxicated’. One person can be accused of DUI if it has been found under the influence of alcohol or even drugs.

An intoxicated driver may be arrested if charged with DWI. However, even if you’re the driver or you’re just a passenger of the car, you can end up with a $500 fine for having an unsealed alcohol container in the vehicle.

What you should also know is that in San Antonio, a person can still be arrested for driving under the influence even if their blood alcohol concentration is below the legal level of 0.08%. The arrest might occur in case the driver displays signs that are consistent with a person who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

If a police officer suspects a driver of being under alcohol or drugs influence, he is allowed to request the driver to perform the test (required by the Texas Administrative License Revocation Program) in order to detect the blood alcohol level. If the driver refuses to submit this test, he will be informed of the related penalties. If the driver still refuses or fails the chemical test, he’s driver’s license will be confiscated and suspended by the police officer with a “Notice of Suspension”. The driver will only have fifteen days from the date of the arrest to request an administrative hearing with the State Office of Administrative Hearings. If no hearing request was performed within the given 15 days, the license suspension cannot be challenged anymore.

What you can do in order to avoid any penalties or even a possible arrest is to not drive after having consumed alcohol. However, if you attended a party and you already took some alcohol, you can designate a driver in order to get home legally and safe or call a cab,. if there is such a possibility within your location. If not, respect yourself and others and try to spend the night where you are if possible. This decision can save your life and of others (drivers and passengers).

With all these DUI and DWI laws in mind, make sure to legally drive and to not exceed the accepted alcohol amount. You can always obtain more information by contacting the San Antonio DMV department. You can also enter your zip code here to find more information on this topic.

How do BAC Breath and Blood Tests are Conducted by San Antonio Authorities?

Aside from having your own San Antonio cheap car insurance, laws must also be followed responsibly. If you drink and drive your car in San Antonio city, you expose yourself to the risk of being accused of DWI and DUI laws violation. You might arrive in the situation to be stopped by a police officer who has the right to request you for a BAC test. You also have the right to refuse to undergo the test, but your driver’s license will be automatically suspended and you will have to face other multiple consequences too.

AutoInsuranceInSanAntonio

The purpose of the BAC test is to detect the level of alcohol (ethanol) found in a human’s blood. The maximum limit accepted by San Antonio’s laws is the 0.08 percentage for adult drivers over 21 years old. For younger drivers, under 21, the maximum accepted percentage is 0.02% (according to the Texas’ ‘zero-tolerance’ law).

Here are a few things about alcohol: it is quickly absorbed by the blood (in just a few minutes). The alcohol level riches its highest level in an hour after drinking. This period of time may vary depending on the amount of the food existing in the human body.

There are two ways to perform a standard BAC test: the blood test and the breath test.

A first method would be the blood alcohol test. The steps needed to be performed are the following ones: an elastic band must be wrapped around the upper arm. Its purpose is to stop the flow of blood. The second step will be to clean the needle site with a non-alcoholic solution (you can use antiseptic soap or providone-iodine solution) then the needle will be inserted into the veins (which are now larger, because or the elastic band wrapped around the arm). All the needed amount of blood will be collected in a tube.  After this action is performed, the elastic band can be removed from the arm. A cotton ball will be pressed over the needle site and finally, a bandage will be placed at were previously inserted the needle.

Another simpler method used in order to detect the BAC level is the breath test: there is special equipment which must be properly calibrated in order to give accurate results. Unlike blood analyzer, the breath analyzer will approximately calculate the amount of alcohol found in one’s breath and not blood. The principles of this equipment are the following ones: the driver exhales into the breath analyzer. Instantly, any ethanol (alcohol) present in his breath is oxidized to acetic acid. If the atmospheric oxygen is reduced, the final reaction is represented by the oxidation of the ethanol to acetic acid and water. In the end, a microprocessor will measure the electrical current produced by this reaction and will display an approximated blood alcohol content level.

These are the two methods used by the San Antonio police officers in order to prove your DWI or DUI laws’ violations. The second method (the BAC breath test) if often used because it’s simpler and can be performed by any police officer. If a more complex analysis is needed, a BAC blood test will be requested. You can find more information on this topic and quotes for San Antonio cheap car insurance only by entering your zip code here.

What are the Duties of San Antonio DMV?

Another hassle, formality, and big research. This is what surely goes past your mind when the very idea of buying car insurance comes in. The car you own has become your family as something you can’t live without. Days have been there when this car you own has rescued you from a big mess like for the times when you were late for your urgent meeting, when you had an emergency, or when you had to take your annoyed son for a ride to break the ice after a huge fight. That is what a car has become for you, your lifeline. Majority of the people spend quite a lot of time driving through the lanes and going here to there. But with all that you have done with your car, you might also need to own car insurance for your beloved car.

AutoInsuranceInSanAntonioYou must be thinking that it is nothing but a hassle process getting through with owning car insurance. Good thing, the San Antonio DMV has made it easier. It is their duty to inform every car owner and driver in how important it is to own a car insurance. You never know what might happen on the road and what harm you can get or to a nearby property, animal or other persons. The amount you might have to pay for such a mistake will cost you fortune. The numbers are intimidating enough especially if you get caught for not having car insurance, expect that the penalty you will have to pay for is maybe more than what you can afford.

The San Antonio DMV lets us know how important it is to own car insurance and the secret of getting rid of the extra charges that you might have to pay for the premium. Even if premium rates now will require you to work twice as hard for the rest of the year, there still ways to reduce them. The first tip you can try is to make sure you have the safety measures installed in your car. You can start with seat belts and air bags which will keep you stay intact and will also make sure you are not hurt. You can then add anti-theft and alarm systems. After the safety measures, you can take driving courses to polish your skills on the road.

San Antonio DMV also makes us aware of the DUI Driving under the Influence laws. If a certain amount of drug or alcohol is found in the system of the driver, it might lead to imprisonment as punishment. These situations are common with underage drivers and are truly a serious crime. With the growing number of the youth population, reckless driving and DUI cases are increasing every day. The punishments are given to these youth includes:

•             Almost a fine of $500 or even above.

•             Fine: up to $500

•             Community Service: 20-40 hours

•             Driver’s License Suspension: no less than 60 day

•             Absolutely Compulsory Education Awareness Classes of Alcohol

•             Deferred Adjudication is enabled in order to expunge the criminal recordings of the individuals after their birthday till they are adult in case the minor has no subsequent infractions.

•             No involvement of parents is required.

Other punishments include imprisonment for a certain number of days depending on the level of the offense.

DWI or Driving While Intoxicated is more offensive than the DUI since punishments and penalties are more severe especially if with a child is found in the car while driving. The penalties also include imprisonment and a fine of $20,000 or higher. This is why San Antonio DMV is strict with implementing the laws and doing everything they can to inform their residents how careful driving can bring safety and how being insured will be a big help in case of accidents.

For further details about car insurance in San Antonio, just provide us your ZIP and you will get the best deals for free.

How to Obtain Discounts for San Antonio Car Insurance with My Age?

Car insurance is mandatory in San Antonio city and driving without car insurance in San Antonio will bring you penalties of different fine amounts and can also lead to a driver’s license or car’s registration suppression.

When searching for the best solution, you should know that your age plays an important role. Being a young, adult or senior driver can bring you advantages when different insurance companies quote their offers for you. In order to obtain the best rate in San Antonio city, you should know how your age is involved in auto insurance computation algorithm.

If you’re a young and fresh beginner in driving domain, most companies increase the rate you should pay for a certain period and car just because you young and have no previous driving experience. However, there are a few tips to help you obtain a lower rate. If you’re still a student, being added in your parents’ policy will bring you all a cheaper having your own separated. Insurance companies might include one of the special discounts categories as for married people or homeowners. What you could also do aside from this solution is to persevere in your studies, get good grades and maintain it. There are companies that can offer you discounts if you fit in their requirements for the school grade.

What about if you’re an adult middle age driver? Your experience in this domain with the number of years since when you have obtained your driver license is really important. The longer your experience is the lower will be the rate for car insurance in San Antonio. Another important factor is the evidence of past accidents. If you had not encountered any accident for a certain period of time, you’re most likely to receive a better rate. The type of the car you own must also not to be neglected. Owning a premium car will make you pay higher rates than having a standard car. All these facts can increase or lower the price you’ll need to pay for the policy.

If you’re a senior driver, you will likely have higher discounts. Many companies consider that you have enough experience compared to the other two categories presented above. After statistical studies made, it has been observed that older drivers with lower speeds and do not use their cars so often will get the lowest probability of car accident. However, if you are over 75 years, the policy rate will increase because it’s considered that the ability of driving has decreased after this certain age.

No matter what category you fit in, you should take a few minutes to discover to most suitable offer for you in San Antonio city. Just enter your zip code to receive appropriate offers. All you need to do is to choose the best price – quality ratio for your car insurance policy.

How Car Insurance in San Antonio can Help You in DUI Violation?

The picturesque city of San Antonio holds many twists and turns when it comes to getting proper insurance schemes. Car insurance in San Antonio is a serious business with mandatory conditions that must be followed if you want the ideal package for yourself and your family members as well. Driving license also plays a huge role since it is the first thing at stake if the terms and conditions are broken.

In the city of San Antonio, every car owner and driver is held to be a very serious offender if you drive while you’re drunk. Violation of DWI or DUI laws are has subsequent penalties and punishments. It can lead to imprisonment or compulsory service in community projects, house arrest, and interlocking devices for ignitions, license plate confiscation, or screening for alcohol or drugs.

If you have offended the said law, it is advisable to consult DUI lawyers. You can hire one through Drunk Driving Criminal Defense Attorney Directory lists of criminal defense lawyers available widely in all of the 50 states of USA. You can do research over the web about the DUI lawyers.

Hiring a private DUI lawyer is a decent choice if your finances will permit it. Only DUI lawyers can carry out defending clients charged with drunk driving on a daily basis and know the technicalities, laws and any legal loopholes inside and out. They tend to specialize on specific areas of law and are experts on their field only. Many DUI lawyers give instruction to clients over the telephone without any charge. A good client-DUI lawyer relationship is necessary to fight against the case.

Just get hold of the DUI criminal offense lawyer directory and provide the state you live in to know who the lawyers available in your locality are.

Interested to know more? Give us your zip code and we will guide you to find nothing but the best car insurance in San Antonio.

Why Do You Need San Antonio Cheap Car Insurance?

If you possess personal vehicles in San Antonio, car insurance is an extremely vital factor for you and your family as well. Auto insurances lend a support to the car owners from facing financial disasters after a severe accident. By paying a certain amount as premium costs, you are also ensuring peace of mind at the same time.

According to the state law, car owners must have insurances for their cars to be able to legally utilise them on the road. Otherwise you will be fined, sent to the jail, or you may even lose your car license for several years. Maintaining car insurances is highly necessary from every aspect associated to car driving. San Antonio Cheap Car Insurance must be mentioned here as it relieves the car owners from all insurance related worries.

One would be well advised to keep a careful track of all the relevant DWL and DUI laws since violation of these would throw all insurance benefits into disarray. Second level offences can be extremely serious to handle. There are fines ranging up to $4,000, imprisonment from 30 days to a year and suspension of license for a minimum of 180 days.

Every motorist in San Antonio has various options when it comes to purchasing car insurances. The best and most reliable way of exercising these available options is contacting numerous insurance service providers and asking them for cheap quotes. Ensure that the extent of the coverage is utterly understood. Each of their agents must satisfy you with your queries. After searching for the best insurance providers and their policies offered, you will definitely find out that San Antonio Cheap Car Insurance is the most not as hard as you think to deal with.

Be extremely smart and careful in choosing your company for auto insurances. There are several companies which can offer you insurances for your lovely car. But it is needless to say that not all of them are absolutely trustworthy and up to the mark. Make your own research before you make any decision. There are several policies, coverage, and scheme concepts that must be clarified first.

Think about your own preference and needs first before selecting any insurance provider. Too much and too little coverage both can be bad for you in the future.

Decide how much is the insurance would you actually need and think of how you can lower the cost of your auto insurance. Simply decide whether you will buy collision coverage or comprehensive coverage. Then start your search on how can you gain discounts. Cheap auto insurance in San Antonio provides you what you will surely need without worries.

Car insurances provide many benefits to the car owners. Possessing insurances for their cars, they can drive them without feeling troubled on how he will shoulder the liability of car being damaged on the road. They do not even have to pay unnecessary fines without any hassle. Choose the most affordable and most convenient policies and premiums for your autos. Get more information about cheap car insurance in San Antonio by simply entering your ZIP code.

Important Tips in Searching for Auto Insurance Quotes in San Antonio with Compliance to DWI Regulations

Before searching for the best deal one must have a clear idea of the “best deal” one is looking for. Generally, cheap deals are regarded as good deals but a closer inspection elucidates the expensive nature of such deals. Therefore, any day an ideal deal will be a deal, which looks after your budget and takes care of your coverage requirements.

SanAntonioAutoInsuranceBefore one starts comparing the different car insurance quotes, one should have decided upon the coverage amount necessary for oneself. San Antonio Auto insurance quotes provide personalized car insurances for the different types of drivers. For example, Pay as you drive insurance policies is for those who do not drive much as a result of which their accident probability is reduced and hence their insurance amount is reduced. Some other service, which provides discounts to customers, is multi vehicle insurance policy. This policy means; if one is applying for insurance of vehicles more than one then they will provide a discount, if one completes a driver program effectively then the discount incentives can be availed, discounts are even there for fuel efficient cars as well as cars of low mileage. The most important coverages are: liabilities, payment of medical bills so on and so forth. Therefore, one should see to the fact that he is paying for the coverage, which he actually needs.

After deciding the coverage plan one must start researching for the minimum coverage insurance as demanded by the city of San Antonio.

San Antonio DWI and DUI Laws play a huge part in all of this though. Any penalties of the same and you can expect to be grounded as far as your insurance journey is concerned. All such penalties increase substantially with multiple offences. Usually the first level of offence is common for most drivers and under this category or a B level one, there is often imprisonment for upto 180 days while the average is 72 days. There are also fines going up to $2000* along with total revoking of the license for a minimum period of 90 days to even a year in particular circumstances.

When one knows, the coverage program he will be applying for and the minimum coverage amount, he can easily look through the auto insurance quotes in San Antonio by filling up a form online that asks for the individual’s zip code and the model of the car. In no time, a list of the best insurance providers suiting one’s need is displayed. Therefore, the visitor can carefully choose from a group of many, the desired deal that fulfils his criteria of an outstanding insurance policy. By comparing the quotes one not only gets a clear view but also provides an all round protection to his car since the minimum coverage amount as determined by San Antonio does not always ensures complete protection to the automobile.

After getting the desired deal, the next question that one should be pondering upon is the genuineness of the company and their economic stability. If the company providing the loan is financially stable then the insurance provided by them is surely stable.

Tips for the visitors:

-One should keep in mind that good driving history provides great insurance deals.

-Generally, people select the first deal they get without further research.

If these facts were kept in mind then one would surely get the best deal out of the auto insurance quotes in San Antonio. Are you still confused? Enter your zip now, and get results now.