Helpful agents are standing by: (210) 775-1981
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

The Penalties and Punishments for the San Antonio DWI and DUI laws Violation

After purchasing your car insurance in San Antonio, you can legally drive your car within this city and all states and cities included in your policy. When driving your car, you need to know that being charged of DUI or DWI is not acceptable. There are penalties for subsequent traffic law violations especially for driving under influence or driving while intoxicated cases.

The following penalties apply only to drivers over 21 years old.

For first DWI offense, you will be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor offense that involves the following penalties:

  • A jail sentence of 72 hours  only if there was an opened alcohol beverage at the time of the arrest
  • You’ll need to pay a fine up to $2,000 and you will also have to pay an addition surcharge of 1000$ per year for three years if your BAC was under 1.5% at the time of the arrest
  •  There is an additional surcharge of $2,000 per year, for three years if the BAC was equal or greater than 1.6%, at the time of the arrest.
  • You will have to attend a twelve hours state-approved DWI course. Failure to complete this program within 180 days from the arrest date, your driver’s license may be revoked by the Texas Department of Public Safety. You will get a probation period which will be determined by the court.
  • Another form of penalty, you will be needed to perform a minimum 24 hours of community service (this penalty can go up to a maximum of 100 hours of community service).
  • Your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days up to one year if you submitted the chemical alcohol test. If you have refused to submit this test, the suspension period get up between 180 days and 2 years. However, if you’re at the first time offense, you might be eligible to obtain an occupational license if you meet the necessary requirements.

Getting to a second DWI offense will increase your penalties as follows:

  • You will get a jail sentence of 72 hours up to one entire year.
  • You’ll be required to pay a fine amount of $4,000 and an additional surcharge of 1500$ per year, for three consecutive years if your BAC level was under 1.6%
  • Additional surcharge of $2,000 per year for three consecutive years if your BAC level was equal or greater than 1.6%.
  • Regarding the DWI school, it will be a must to attend a 32 hours state-approved DWI course. If you do not attend the course within the first 180 days of your probation period, your driver’s license might be revoked by the Texas PDS.
  • You will have the driver’s license suspended for 180 days up to 2 years. Even if it is the second time DWI offense, you will still be eligible to obtain an occupational license if you meet all needed requirements.

Finally, on a third time DWI offence, the penalties increase even more:

  • You will get a jail sentence of two years up to 10 years.
  • You will be required to pay a fine up to $10,000 and all additional associated court costs.
  • You will also need to pay a $1,500 surcharge per year for three consecutive years if your BAC level was under 1.6%
  • $2,000 surcharge per year for three consecutive years if your BAC level was equal or greater than 1.6%.
  • As for the second time DWI offense, you will be required to attend a state-approved DWI course of 32 hours and within the 180 days of your probation period.
  • You will have to perform community service in account of a minimum of 80 hours and a maximum of 200 hours.
  • Your driver’s license will be revoked for 2 years. Even this time, you might get an occupational license, if you meet the necessary requirements.

What about drivers under 21? If you are under 21 years old, you should pay even greater attention because the laws are more restrictive. In this case, if an under 21 driver is found to be driving while drunk, having an alcohol concentration (proved through the chemical test) of 0.02% or greater, will be charged of violation of the Texas “zero tolerance” law. You’re driver license will be suspended for 30 days for the first offence violation. In case a second offense violation occurs, the license will be suspended for a period of 60 days. Finally, when a third time DWI offense occurs, the driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. You should also know that, even if you are under 21 years old, if you are arrested for having a BAC level of 0.08% (which is the maximum limit admitted for drivers over 21 years old) or greater, you will be charged with the same fines and penalties as someone over 21 would face for a similar offense. Moreover, in order to retrieve your driver license back you will have to show proof of financial responsibility and purchase a Texas SR22 insurance coverage.

One more thing that you should understand related to the DWI and DUI laws is represented by the consequences of having a child in your car while being arrested for DWI. If there is at least one child in your car younger than 15 years old, you will end up with the following penalties: you will get a fine up to $10,000, your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days, and you will also receive a punishment of up to 2 years in a state jail.

These are the possible consequences of being arrested under the DWI offence. You should carefully reconsider every case that might put you in this situation. For more information about DWI and DUI laws or to get the best deals for car insurance in San Antonio, enter your zip code here.

What are the Factors that Could Affect My San Antonio Car Insurance Discounts?

There are a few tricks you can do for getting a lower rate when purchasing new car insurance in San Antonio.

One of these tricks is related to your driving record. In order to be eligible for a particular discount you should try to keep your driving history as clean as you can. For example, if you have not caused any accidents during the period of your last policy and you have not received any fine for serious misconduct, you will have the opportunity to benefit with lower prices for your future policy.

Another factor could be your job domain. There are certain occupations which are considered as low-risk factors. If you are a teacher, accountant or an engineer, you might receive an extra bonus. There are some particular discounts for military personnel too. Some insurance companies value these properties because these are considered low-stress jobs. Companies will quote lower rates for your car insurance.

Another thing you can do is to drop unnecessary coverage. For example, if you have an old car it might be better to give up the collision and comprehensive insurances.  As your car gets old, these rates will dramatically increase. However, these two policies would be welcome if you get a new car.

How many miles do you drive each year? If you’re just an occasional driver you should definitely specify this when purchasing your auto insurance. There is a so-called low mileage discount. It means the fewer miles you drive, the higher the discount is. The place you park your car would be another factor concerning the special discounts you can get for your policy. A safe parking place will reduce the possible risks and will enable you to get better quotes.

In order to see the rates’ differences you can make two simulations here and choose the best solution for you.

Another solution to decrease your policy’s rate is to check with your employer if there is a bilateral agreement between your hiring company and the insurance company. Usually, multinational companies use to sign these types of agreements. You can ask the insurance company if there is a particular agreement with your employment company.

If you decide to divide the total amount to be paid for your policy in multiple installments, you should know that by paying six months in advance will lower you’re final rate.

One more thing that can save you some money is the year and model of your car. The insurance rates will vary if you own a new car or if you have a pretty old second-hand car. In addition, if you get a high performance sport car of a luxury vehicle, you will get higher quotes than having a standard type of car. Still, you will have to choose your car depending on your needs.

Another trick which can give you a better rate is the cars’ safety. Insurance companies value the safety features as: airbags, automatic seatbelts, tire pressure monitoring devices, anti-lock brake systems, window sketching, and emergency response system or rearview camera. Each of these features might help you avoid a car accident. You will also be eligible for better quotes if you’re car present most of these properties.

One more thing you should pay attention to is your credit score. This factor can increase or decrease the policy rate you need to get in order to drive your car in San Antonio city. If you have a bad credit score and history, you might be paying for a policy 50% higher. Make sure to keep a clean credit history and to maintain a high credit score.

Your age and gender will also affect your car insurance’s rates. Usually, teenagers are considered a high-risks category due to the lack of experience. If you are a single male under 25 years you will certainly receive higher quotes. You’ll be included in one of the most high-risk categories. You might want to consider all other tricks in order to decrease your policy’s rate.

Finally, where you live in will definitely affect your car insurances prices. You’ll have to pay high rates if you live in an urban area with a high population number and heavy traffic. Instead you might get a lower rate if you live in a rural area. Usually, car insurance companies compute their quotes regarding the zip code of your area. For example, living in San Antonio city will get you to pay higher rate than living in a nearby suburb.

Here are some percentage examples that you can save for particular discounts: you can get up to 15% if you are a student and if you have maintained high grades; for multiple cars registered on the same policy, you can save up to 25% of the initial amount; having multiple policies (car insurance, life and medical insurances) signed with the same company will bring you discount percentage between 10% and 25%; by increasing your deductible you get a discount range between 5% and 15%; if you got a driving training or you’re a senior driver, the discounts can reach 15% of the initial amount and so on.

Be sure to give all the relevant details to the car insurances companies in order to get the maximum number of discounts and the lowest possible rate. You can check right now which discounts you’re eligible for. Enter your zip code and all the valuable information to get particular discounts and compare all the offers of the best car insurance in San Antonio.

What are the Basic Principles in Purchasing Car Insurance in San Antonio?

San Antonio city is part of the Texas state; therefore it complies with its rules. Since Texas is a tort state, drivers are fully responsible for the car accidents they caused. Every San Antonio driver must purchase at least the minimal coverage insurance.

This minimal coverage is established at state level. Basically, this is an amount which should cover accidents damage and injuries for the non-guilty part. With such a standard insurance, the faulty part will receive no compensation. There are other types of car insurance in San Antonio with higher prices that can cover the expenses of the person who caused the accident too. In order to see which type of insurance suits you the best, you only need to enter your zip code and check the offers.

The San Antonio minimal coverage is represented by the following amounts: $25,000 in case of property damage, $30,000 for bodily injuries in case that there is just one injured person, and $60,000 if there are at least 2 bodily injured persons. The last amount represents the maximum amount the insurance will cover for per accident. If total damages are not covered by this amount, the faulty part is responsible to pay the remaining amount to cover all accident expenses.

Pay attention to car insurance related penalties. There are 2 types of penalties. The first situation would be represented by a non-insured car involved into a car accident. The second situation may appear when you cannot prove that you have an insurance policy for your car.

If you’ll find yourself in the first situation, you would better know that penalties are not to be neglected: you can get a fine up to $350 and you would also need to pay an amount of $250 each year for three years. If this particular case occurs multiple times, the fine can go up to $1,000, and there is the possibility to have your driver and car registration suspended. Regarding the second situation, you should know that you’re required to show proof of your car insurance every time you’re involved in a car accident or for a car inspection.

If you’re just visiting San Antonio and you want to rent a car, there are non-owner policies which you can purchase. If you’re the faulty part in an accident, it will not cover your expenses (related to your injuries and damages of the car you drove), but it will cover the other part bodily injuries and damages.

Know who will be covered by the policy insurance. Most of the companies will cover you and your family, but there are also some types of policies where you must specifically register your family members when you purchase the insurance policy.

Since you’ve found what car insurance in San Antonio is and which are the penalties and who can be covered through an auto insurance, do not forget to enter you zip code and check the offers to purchase the policy that suits your requirements the most.

What are the Factors I should be Familiar with When Shopping San Antonio Car Insurance?

When purchasing car insurance in San Antonio, you should know that you have certain auto insurance rights approved by San Antonio laws. These rights are presented all together within the Consumer Bill of Rights document. However, when you sign car insurance the provider will inform you that some rights are not fulfilled through that policy. Check this information with the Texas Department of Insurance Consumer Protection centre. All car insurance companies are required to give you a copy of the Bill of Rights. You can get valuable information through the Bill of Right or by contacting the said center.

Before choosing a car insurance company you can get to know its license status and financial condition. You can find out the consumers’ complaint ratio against the insurance company. All these aspects will certainly impact your decision when choosing your insurance policy provider.

Before singing for car insurance in San Antonio, you should pay attention to a few topics like:

  • Payment plans – In case you don’t have the entire amount of money in order to pay you policy, you have the right to pay a different number of instalments; for example, for a 12 months policy, you can divide the entire amount to be paid in 10 instalments; for a 6 months insurance policy, you can dive the amount in maximum 4 instalments.
  • Excess limits – The insurance company cannot force you to purchase liability limits greater than the minimal coverage required in San Antonio – 30/60/25, and cannot require you to sign, as a mandatory condition, other coverage types.
  •  Denial explanation – if you apply for a policy to a particular provider and it will deny your apply, you have the right to receive a written explanation containing the reasons why you were not accepted.
  • Notice of reduced coverage – you must receive a written explanation if the insurer decided to lower the coverage amount stated in your already signed policy.
  • Electronic payments – if you allowed the company insurance to withdraw the entire policy amount or instalment payments from your bank account, the insurer is not allowed to increase the amount withdrawn if one of the following two conditions is not fulfilled: the car insurance provider does not send you a previously 30 days notification; you send an object to this increase, at least 5 days before the change takes effect.

Regarding a policy’s cancelation, it cannot be cancelled anymore if more than 60 days have passed since the insurance was signed unless one of the following situations occurs: failure to your instalments, driver’s license or car registration is suspended or revoked, or if you filed a fraudulent claim. In order to cancel you policy, the insurer must provide you a notice at least 10 days prior to cancellation.

Knowing these facts help you to understand what car insurances are supposed to be, what you must or mustn’t do, and what to expect for when purchasing car insurance in San Antonio. Enter your zip code and analyze the offers and the companies’ status of the most suitable policy.

How to Obtain Discounts for San Antonio Car Insurance with My Age?

Car insurance is mandatory in San Antonio city and driving without car insurance in San Antonio will bring you penalties of different fine amounts and can also lead to a driver’s license or car’s registration suppression.

When searching for the best solution, you should know that your age plays an important role. Being a young, adult or senior driver can bring you advantages when different insurance companies quote their offers for you. In order to obtain the best rate in San Antonio city, you should know how your age is involved in auto insurance computation algorithm.

If you’re a young and fresh beginner in driving domain, most companies increase the rate you should pay for a certain period and car just because you young and have no previous driving experience. However, there are a few tips to help you obtain a lower rate. If you’re still a student, being added in your parents’ policy will bring you all a cheaper having your own separated. Insurance companies might include one of the special discounts categories as for married people or homeowners. What you could also do aside from this solution is to persevere in your studies, get good grades and maintain it. There are companies that can offer you discounts if you fit in their requirements for the school grade.

What about if you’re an adult middle age driver? Your experience in this domain with the number of years since when you have obtained your driver license is really important. The longer your experience is the lower will be the rate for car insurance in San Antonio. Another important factor is the evidence of past accidents. If you had not encountered any accident for a certain period of time, you’re most likely to receive a better rate. The type of the car you own must also not to be neglected. Owning a premium car will make you pay higher rates than having a standard car. All these facts can increase or lower the price you’ll need to pay for the policy.

If you’re a senior driver, you will likely have higher discounts. Many companies consider that you have enough experience compared to the other two categories presented above. After statistical studies made, it has been observed that older drivers with lower speeds and do not use their cars so often will get the lowest probability of car accident. However, if you are over 75 years, the policy rate will increase because it’s considered that the ability of driving has decreased after this certain age.

No matter what category you fit in, you should take a few minutes to discover to most suitable offer for you in San Antonio city. Just enter your zip code to receive appropriate offers. All you need to do is to choose the best price – quality ratio for your car insurance policy.

How Car Insurance in San Antonio can Help You in DUI Violation?

The picturesque city of San Antonio holds many twists and turns when it comes to getting proper insurance schemes. Car insurance in San Antonio is a serious business with mandatory conditions that must be followed if you want the ideal package for yourself and your family members as well. Driving license also plays a huge role since it is the first thing at stake if the terms and conditions are broken.

In the city of San Antonio, every car owner and driver is held to be a very serious offender if you drive while you’re drunk. Violation of DWI or DUI laws are has subsequent penalties and punishments. It can lead to imprisonment or compulsory service in community projects, house arrest, and interlocking devices for ignitions, license plate confiscation, or screening for alcohol or drugs.

If you have offended the said law, it is advisable to consult DUI lawyers. You can hire one through Drunk Driving Criminal Defense Attorney Directory lists of criminal defense lawyers available widely in all of the 50 states of USA. You can do research over the web about the DUI lawyers.

Hiring a private DUI lawyer is a decent choice if your finances will permit it. Only DUI lawyers can carry out defending clients charged with drunk driving on a daily basis and know the technicalities, laws and any legal loopholes inside and out. They tend to specialize on specific areas of law and are experts on their field only. Many DUI lawyers give instruction to clients over the telephone without any charge. A good client-DUI lawyer relationship is necessary to fight against the case.

Just get hold of the DUI criminal offense lawyer directory and provide the state you live in to know who the lawyers available in your locality are.

Interested to know more? Give us your zip code and we will guide you to find nothing but the best car insurance in San Antonio.